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Utah Specific Transaction Instructions 
 

837 Health Care Claim: Institutional  
ASCX12N 837 (004010X096A1) 

 
The Health Insurance Portability and Accountability Act (HIPAA) requires all health 
insurance payers in the United States to comply with the Electronic Data Interchange 
(EDI) standards for healthcare as established by the Secretary of Health and Human 
Services.  The ANSI ASC X12N 837I Version 4010 implementation guide is the 
standard of compliance -- available at www.wpc-edi.com.  The following supplemental 
information is specific to Utah Medicaid and serves as a companion guide to the 
implementation guide.  Utah Medicaid Provider Manuals are available at 
http://www.health.utah.gov/medicaid/manuals/directory.php?p=Medicaid%20Provider%
20Manuals/. 
 
Electronic Claims: 
 
1. Telephone number for Medicaid EDI customer support (OS&D) is 801-538-6155 

or 800-662-9651 menu 3, menu 5.  Hours of operation are Monday through 
Wednesday (7 am to 6 pm) and Thursday (11 am to 6 pm).   Telephones are 
down between 12 noon and 1 pm.   
 

2. AccessNow, telephone automated system for member eligibility, is available from 
6 am to 12 midnight Monday through Saturday and 12 noon to 12 midnight on 
Sundays.  
 

3. Medicaid companion guides are available at 
https://health.utah.gov/hipaa/guides.htm.  
 

4. All EDI must pass through the Utah Health Information Network (UHIN), an 
independent, not-for-profit, value added network serving all payers in Utah.  
Contact UHIN at www.UHIN.com or call 801-466-7705 x200.  UHIN will assign a 
Trading Partner Number (TPN) for EDI. 
 

5. Use your TPN and your National Provider Identifier (NPI) to complete the Online 
EDI Enrollment Form (EForm) at https://hcf.health.utah.gov/hcfenroll/index.jsp.  
Without an EDI enrollment, the Medicaid computer system will not acknowledge 
any transmission (e.g. 837, 835, etc). 

 
6. The NPI and Tax ID (or SSN) must match to a single Medicaid contract.  If a 

provider affiliates their NPI to more than one Medicaid Contract, a unique 
Taxonomy Code or unique address must be affiliated to their Contract.  Update 
contract information with the Medicaid Provider Enrollment team at 801-538-6155 
or 800-662-9651, menu 3, menu 4, or fax to 801-536-0471.   

http://www.wpc-edi.com/
http://www.health.utah.gov/medicaid/manuals/directory.php?p=Medicaid%20Provider%20Manuals/
http://www.health.utah.gov/medicaid/manuals/directory.php?p=Medicaid%20Provider%20Manuals/
https://health.utah.gov/hipaa/guides.htm
http://www.uhin.com/
https://hcf.health.utah.gov/hcfenroll/index.jsp
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7. Providers, billers, and clearinghouses must separate batches by receiving TPN 

(HT000004-001 and HT000004-005).  If submitted as one batch, claims will be 
applied to the first receiver TPN on the submission.  
 

8. Medicaid requires the reporting of the National Drug Code (NDC) in addition to 
the HCPCS/CPT code on provider administered drugs.  The drug list requiring 
NDC is available at http://health.utah.gov/medicaid/pdfs/NDC_required4-08.pdf. 
 

9. Transmit claims anytime 24 hours a day, 7 days a week.  Medicaid’s cut-off for 
claims acceptance is before the end of business on Thursday.  Transactions 
received after the end of business on Thursday may miss the adjudication cycle 
and will process the following weekend. 
 

10. A 997 Functional Acknowledgment will be available for pickup (download) within 
two hours of transmission for all 837 transactions.  If you find no 997, contact 
OS&D.   
 

11. A 277FE Health Care Claim Status Notification - Front End Acknowledgment will 
usually be available for pickup (download) the next business day after the 
transmission of the 837.  If you find no 277FE, contact OS&D.  This transmission 
assigns a 17-digit Transaction Control Number (TCN) to any claim that is 
accepted into the Medicaid Management Information System (MMIS).  The lack 
of a TCN indicates a claim was rejected. Use the Claim Status Codes 
http://www.wpc-edi.com/content/view/715/1 to determine why the claim was 
rejected.  Make corrections and resubmit. 
 

12. Medicaid Customer Service agents are unable to see claims that have not 
processed through at least one weekend adjudication cycle.  Use the 997 and 
277FE reports to determine status of electronic submissions prior to a weekend 
adjudication cycle.  After an adjudication cycle, use the 276 transaction for claim 
status. 
 

13. Utah Medicaid cannot accept a line with a negative submitted charge (method 
used by Medicare for adjusting claims).  A negative amount will generate the 484 
error code (Business Application Currently Not Available).  For adjustments, 
Medicaid requests submission of a void or replace claim (see instructions below). 
 

14. Transmit claims for all Medicaid programs (Non-Traditional Medicaid, Primary 
Care Network, Select Access, Baby Your Baby, etc.) to Medicaid 
Fee-For-Service (FFS), HT000004-001 or Medicare/Medicaid Crossover claims 
to HT000004-005. Services not covered by Medicare should be billed to 
Medicaid FFS using the policy and procedures of Medicaid. 
 

http://health.utah.gov/medicaid/pdfs/NDC_required4-08.pdf
http://www.wpc-edi.com/content/view/715/1
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15. Units must be reported in full units.  Utah Health Care Financing’s policy is to 
round to the nearest unit.  No decimals will be accepted. 
 

16. Providers should submit their own corrections by submitting either a replacement 
or void claim.  If the original claim was denied, submit claim as an original claim.  
Medicaid will allow for submission of electronic corrections or voids to a 
previously paid claim.   Acceptable Values: “7” – Replacement “8” – Void.  The 
TCN of the claim to be replaced or voided must be reported.  Do not submit 
hyphens or spaces. 
The following is information about replacement/void claims: 

 The provider number on the original claim must match the provider number 
being submitted on the replacement claim, or the claim will reject. 

 If the TCN of the original claim cannot be identified in the Medicaid system, 
or the claim has already been reprocessed, the replacement/void claim will be 
rejected.  

 Replacement claim(s) void the original claim.  The replacement claim is then 
processed in the Medicaid system as an original claim. 

 If there is a line item that did not pay on the original claim, it is not necessary 
to submit a replacement claim.  You may submit a new claim for only the 
services not paid on the original claim.  However, if additional units are being 
added to an already paid procedure code, or you are changing procedure codes, 
a replacement claim must be submitted. 

 If wanting to replace an original claim that was split by Medicaid for 
processing, it is necessary to submit a void claim for each of the split claims.  A 
new original claim would then be submitted for processing. 

 If a claim was paid under the wrong provider number, submit a void claim 
with the provider number of the original claim and a new original claim with the 
correct provider number.  

 If the original claim was denied, do not submit a replacement claim.  Make 
the necessary correction(s) and resubmit the claim as an original claim. 

 

 

Page Loop Segment Data Element Values / Comments 

59  BHT06 Claim or Encounter 

Identifier 

“CH” – Used for claims with at least one 

chargeable item. 

62 1000A NM108 Electronic Transmitter 

Identification Number 

(ETIN) 

“46” – ETIN 

63 1000A NM109 Submitter Identifier Submitter’s TPN 

68 1000B NM103 Receiver Name “Medicaid FFS”   OR 

“Medicaid Crossover” 

68 1000B NM108 Information Receiver 

Identification Number 

“46” – ETIN 
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Page Loop Segment Data Element Values / Comments 

68 1000B NM109 Receiver Primary 

Identifier 

“HT000004-001” – Medicaid FFS 

“HT000004-005” – Crossover 

72 2000A PRV02 Reference Identification 

Qualifier 

“ZZ” – Taxonomy Code 

72 2000A PRV03 Reference Identification Provider Taxonomy Code 

Required if multiple provider types/services 

under same NPI. 

77 2010AA NM101 Entity Identifier Code “85” – Billing Provider 

77 2010AA NM102 Entity Type Qualifier “2” – Non-Person Entity 

77 2010AA NM108 Identification Code 

Qualifier 

“XX” – NPI 

 

78 2010AA NM109 Identification Code NPI 

79 2010AA N301 Billing Provider Address 

Line 

Address that coordinates with Medicaid 

Contract Service Location 

80 2010AA N401 Billing Provider City 

Name 

City that coordinates with Medicaid Contract 

Service Location 

81 2010AA N402 Billing Provider State State that coordinates with Medicaid Contract 

Service Location 

81 2010AA N403 Billing Provider’s Zip 

Code 

Zip Code+4  Do not submit hyphens or 

spaces. 

83 2010AA REF01 Reference Identification 

Qualifier 

“EI” – Tax ID 

84 2010AA REF02 Billing Provider 

Additional Identifier 

Tax ID  

100 2000B HL04 Hierarchical Child Code “0” – The subscriber is always the patient; 

there are no dependents in Medicaid. 

104 2000B SBR09 Claim Filing Indicator 

Code 

“MC” – Medicaid 

109 2010BA NM102 Entity Type Qualifier “1” – Person 

109 2010BA NM103 Subscriber Last Name Patient’s last name.  Match the name on the 

Medicaid Card. 

109 2010BA NM104 Subscriber First Name Patient’s first name is required.  Match the 

name on the Medicaid Card.   

110 2010BA NM108 Identification Code 

Qualifier 

“MI” – Member Identification Number 

110 2010BA NM109 Subscriber Primary 

Identifier 

Use the 10-digit identifier assigned by 

Medicaid.  Do not submit hyphens or spaces. 

127 2010BC NM103 Payer Name “Medicaid FFS”   OR  

“Medicaid Crossover” 

127 2010BC NM108 Identification Code 

Qualifier 

“PI” – Payer Identification 
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Page Loop Segment Data Element Values / Comments 

128 2010BC NM109 Payer Identifier “HT000004-001” – Medicaid FFS 

“HT000004-005” – Crossover 

139 2000C HL Patient Hierarchical 

Level 

The subscriber is always the patient in 

Medicaid.  Do NOT use this loop. 

158 2300 CLM01 Patient Account Number Provider assigned number unique to this 

particular claim. 

159 2300 CLM02 Total Claim Charges Total Claim Charges 

159 2300 CLM05-

1 

Facility Type Code Type of Bill 

159 2300 CLM05-

3 

Claim Frequency Code For original submission (or re-submission of 

denied claims) use value: 

“1” – Original 

 

Medicaid will allow for submission of 

electronic corrections or voids to a previously 

paid claim. 

Acceptable Values: 

“7” – Replacement 

“8” – Void 

The TCN assigned to the claim voiding or 

replacing must be reported in REF02. 

165 2300 DTP01 Date/Time Qualifier “096” – Discharge 

165 2300 DTP02 Date Time Period Format 

Qualifier 

“TM” – Hour 

166 2300 DTP03 Discharge Hour Use format HHMM 

167 2300 DTP01 Date/Time Qualifier “434” – Statement 

167 2300 DTP02 Date Time Period Format 

Qualifier 

“RD8” – Date Range 

168 2300 DTP03 Statement From or To 

Date 

Use format CCYYMMDD– CCYYMMDD 

169 2300 DTP01 Date/Time Qualifier “435” – Admission 

169 2300 DTP02 Date Time Period Format 

Qualifier 

“DT” – Date and time 

170 2300 DPT03 Admission Date/Hour Use format CCYYMMDDHHMM 

171 2300 CL101 Admission Type Code Type of admission 

172 2300 CL102 Admission Source Code Source of admission 

172 2300 CL103 Patient Status Code Discharge patient status 

180 2300 AMT01 Amount Qualifier Code “F3” – Patient Responsibility  

181 2300 AMT02 Patient Responsibility 

Amount 

Amount Due – As reported by other payer 
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Page Loop Segment Data Element Values / Comments 

191 2300 REF01 Reference Identification 

Qualifier 

“F8” – Original Reference Number 

192 2300 REF02 Claim Original 

Reference Number 

When codes “7” or “8” are submitted in Loop 

2300 CLM05-3, the TCN assigned to the 

original claim must be reported.  Do not 

submit hyphens or spaces.  Do not submit 

replacement/void claims until the original 

TCN processes through a weekend cycle. 

198 2300 REF01 Reference Identification 

Qualifier 

“G1” – Prior Authorization.   

Medicaid does not use referral numbers. 

199 2300 REF02 Prior Authorization  Use the 7-digit prior authorization assigned by 

Medicaid. 

200 2300 REF01 Reference Identification 

Qualifier 

“EA” – Medical Record Identification 

Number 

201 2300 REF02 Medical Record Number Provider assigned number. 

208 2300 NTE01 Note Reference Code “ADD” – Additional Information 

209 2300 NTE02 Billing Note Text Additional claim level notes 

228 2300 HI01-2 Principal Diagnosis Primary diagnosis 

228 2300 HI02-2 Admitting Diagnosis Admitting diagnosis 

230 2300 HI01-2 Diagnosis Related Group 

(DRG) Information 

Medicaid calculates the DRG and does not 

utilize this field.  

233 2300 HI01-2 Other Diagnosis Additional diagnosis 

242 2300 HI01-1 Code List Qualifier Code “BR” – Principal procedure 

243 2300 HI01-2 Principal Procedure Code Principal procedure code 

244 2300 HI01-1 Code List Qualifier Code “BQ” – Other procedure codes 

245 2300 HI01-2 Procedure Code The principal procedure code and 2 others (in 

order as listed), will be used for claims 

processing. 

267 2300 HI Occurrence Information The first 5 occurrence codes will be used for 

claims processing. 

280 2300 HI Value Information The first 3 value codes will be used for claims 

processing.  When using value code “68”, a 

revenue code and units must also be submitted 

(units should be rounded to full units). 

306 2300 QTY Claim Quantity Used to report covered and non-covered days. 

322 2310A NM101 Entity Identifier Code “71” –Attending Physician 

322 2310A NM102 Entity Type Qualifier “1” – Person 

323 2310A NM108 Identification Code 

Qualifier 

“XX” – NPI 

 

323 2310A NM109 Identification Code NPI 

329 2310B NM101 Entity Identifier Code “72” – Operating Physician 
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Page Loop Segment Data Element Values / Comments 

329 2310B NM102 Entity Type Qualifier “1” – Person 

330 2310B NM108 Identification Code 

Qualifier 

“XX” – NPI 

 

330 2310B NM109 Identification Code NPI 

359 2320 SBR Other Subscriber 

Information 

If the patient has Medicare or other 3rd party 

coverage, repeat this loop for each payer.  Do 

not put information about Utah Medicaid 

coverage/payment in this loop. 

367 2320 CAS01 Claim Adjustment Group 

Code 

As reported by other payer.  

Report Patient Responsibility in Loop 2300 

AMT Segment. 

367 2320 CAS02 Adjustment Reason Code As reported by other payer. 

367 2320 CAS03 Adjustment Amount – 

Claim Level 

As reported by other payer. 

371 2320 AMT01 Amount Qualifier Code “C4” – Prior Payment - Actual 

371 2320 AMT02 Payer Paid Amount As reported by other payer. 

372 2320 AMT01 Amount Qualifier Code “B6” –  Allowed - Actual 

372 2320 AMT02 Allowed Amount As reported by other payer 

392 2320 MIA Medicare Inpatient 

Adjudication 

Remark codes as reported by Medicare. 

397 2320 MOA Medicare Outpatient 

Adjudication 

Remark codes as reported by Medicare. 

415 2330B DTP03 Adjudication or Payment 

Date 

As reported by other payer. 

444 2400 LX Line Counter Medicaid recommends submitting 59 or fewer 

service lines for each Institutional claim.  

Claims submitted with more than 59 service 

lines may be split, combined, and may 

encounter processing delays. 

446 2400 SV201 Product/Service ID Use appropriate 4-digit REV codes. 

448 2400 SV204 Unit or basis for 

measurement 

“DA” – days 

“UN” – units 

453 2400 PWK01 Attachment Report Type 

Code 

Required if documentation is needed to 

support the claim.  Claim may deny, however 

once documentation is received the claim is 

re-processed. 

454 2400 PWK02 Report Transmission 

Code 

“BM” – by mail 

AFX” – by fax  

AEM” – by e-mail 
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Page Loop Segment Data Element Values / Comments 

454 2400 PWK06 Identification Code Provider assigned number unique to this 

attachment.  Each attachment associated with 

the claim must display the same unique 

number and the Provider ID. 

456 2400 DTP Service Line Date Report line level date of service as 

appropriate.  Required for home health 

providers. 

37
A
 2410 LIN02 ID Qualifier “N4” – NDC 

37
A
 2410 LIN03 NDC Number NDC is required on all out patient claims for 

physician administered drugs, in addition to 

the HCPCS/CPT code.  Enter 11 digits.  Do 

not submit hyphens or spaces. Zero fill if not 

5-4-2 format (example: 186-868-44 report as 

00186086844) in first field. 

39
A
 2410 CTP03 Unit Price Drug Unit Price 

39
A
 2410 CTP04 Quantity National Drug Unit Count 

39
A
 2410 CTP05 Unit or Basis of 

Measurement 

“GR” – Gram 

“F2” – International Unit 

“ML” – Milliliter 

“UN” – Unit 

40
A
 2410 REF01 Reference Identification 

Qualifier 

“XZ” – Prescription  

Applicable if dispensing of the drug has been 

done with an assigned Rx number. 

41
A
 2410 REF02 Prescription Number Pharmacy Prescription Number 

490 2430 SVD Line Adjudication 

Information 

Use this loop if line level payment was 

received from another payer. 

491 2430 SVD02 Service Line Paid 

Amount 

As reported by other payer. 

495 2430 CAS01 Adjustment Group Code As reported by other payer. 

If other payer reported line level patient 

responsibility, but did not provide a group 

code, use “PR” to report patient responsibility. 

496 2430 CAS02 Adjustment Reason Code As reported by other payer. 

If other payer reported line level patient 

responsibility, but did not provide a reason 

code, use: 

“1” – deductible amount 

“2” – coinsurance amount 

496 2430 CAS03 Adjustment Amount – 

Line Level 

As reported by other payer. 

 


