Utah State Capitol


Utah Medicaid Home Page

Utah State Seal


Employment-related Personal Assistant Services (EPAS)

What is EPAS?

EPAS is a Medicaid service for people with disabilities who work and need personal assistance in order to maintain their employment.

This service is designed to provide personal assistance for persons who may have physical, mental, cognitive, and/or developmental disabilities that are working in an integrated and competitive setting. The assistance provided is for tasks directly related to maintaining employment.

Who Qualifies for the EPAS program?

A person must:

What Services are Covered by a Personal Assistant?

Examples of services include:

Eating Bathing Dressing
Hygiene Transferring Mobility
Meal Preparation Shopping Money Management
Medication Management Transportation (for work) Symptom Management

What Services are NOT Covered by a Personal Assistant?

Job Coaching   Reasonable Accommodations Job Training

EPAS may not be used for assistance related to complete job tasks, including job coaching, job training, or as a reasonable accommodation that an employer is required to provide under the Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA).

Who can be a Personal Assistant?

Because EPAS is a Self-Directed Services program the EPAS participants may choose/hire his/her own personal assistants.
A Personal Assistant:

Examples of persons who could be Personal Assistants include:

How Do I Apply?

Download the EPAS Application and either mail or fax it to:

Employment-related Personal Assistant Services
Utah Department of Health
Division of Medicaid & Health Finance
Attn: EPAS
PO Box 143112
Salt Lake City, UT 84114-3112

Phone: (801) 538-6955
Fax: (801) 323-1588
Email: kknaras@utah.gov

For more information, see the following Fact Sheets:


Other Sources for Personal Assistance Services http://www.health.utah.gov/ltc/index.html

Personal Assistance Services (PAS) and other similar kinds of support are also available to persons eligible for the Medicaid Home and Community Based Waiver Services. The Physical Disabilities Waiver, the Community Supports Waiver, the Brain Injury Waiver, the New Choices Waiver, the Autism Waiver, and the Aging Waiver.

Individuals may NOT receive EPAS services during the same period they are receiving Waiver services.