Blind or Disabled Persons, Medicaid in Utah
Aged, Blind or Disabled Programs are medical assistance
programs for individuals aged 65 years or older, blind or
disabled. Persons who receive SSI (Supplemental Security
Income) or Social Security Disability benefits meet the
conditions for disability. For other persons to qualify
on the basis of blindness or disability, the person must
have a physical or mental impairment which either (1) can
be expected to result in death or (2) lasts for not less
than 12 months. The impairment must be of such
severity that the person is unable to do his or her previous
work and cannot (considering age, education and work experience),
engage in other kinds of substantial, gainful work.
income standard (monthly income limit), after allowable
deductions, is based on a percentage of the financial assistance
grant level, as determined by the Utah State Legislature.
Income Eligibility Standards in Monthly Amounts (as
of April 2005)
Household Size *Monthly Income
1 . . . . . . . . . . .
2 . . . . . . . . . . . .
3 . . . . . . . . . . . .
4 . . . . . . . . . . . .
5 . . . . . . . . . . . .
larger households, see Table: Income
Limits for Medical Assistance and Medicare Cost-Sharing
$20.00 general income exclusion; $65.00 and 1/2 of the remaining
gross earned income; Health and accident premiums,
and impairment-related work expenses.
Income too high? Medicaid applicants whose income
is more than the monthly income standard may be considered
for the Medically
Needy program, sometimes referred to as the Spenddown
Program. This program allows a person who is otherwise
eligible either to pay "excess" monthly income
to the state or to accept responsibility for a portion of
their monthly medical bills. There is also the QMB program
for Medicare beneficiaries whose monthly income is too high
to qualify for Medicaid. See NOTE at bottom of page.
Limits (see definition
person - $2,000.00
2 persons - $3,000.00
For each additional person, add $25.00. Assets too
high? See NOTE at bottom of page.
Medicaid programs allow an applicant to request coverage
for medical services for up to three months prior to the
month in which the person filed a Medicaid application.
A person who received medical, dental or mental health services
and subsequently qualifies for Medicaid may return to each
provider with a Medicaid Identification Card for the month
in which service was provided. A provider who has already
rendered services may subsequently choose to accept Medicaid
as payment in full or refuse to seek Medicaid payment
because the patient had not been determined eligible for
Medicaid at the time of service. If the provider accepts
Medicaid, Medicaid may pay for the service. If the
provider refuses Medicaid, the patient is responsible for
People who already qualify for Medicare but whose
income or assets are too high to qualify for Medicaid are
considered for the QMB Program.
possible way to lower medical costs is by using a Federally
Qualified Health Center. This is a clinic that offers
low-cost medical care. It does not matter whether
the person qualifies for Medicaid or has health insurance.
The cost of care is based on income. There is a list
of health centers in the brochure "Exploring Medicaid".
The brochure comes in two versions depending on where a
person lives. One version of Exploring
Medicaid is for people living in the Wasatch Front
(Salt Lake, Utah, Davis, Weber, and Morgan Counties).
The other version of Exploring
Medicaid is for people who live in other areas of
the state. In either version, look for telephone numbers
for Federally Qualified Health Centers in the Resource section
of the brochure.