Utah Pedestrian Injury Facts

Do You Know These Facts About Pedestrian Injuries in Utah? /

« Pedestrians are 18 times more likely to be killed in a motor vehicle crash than
occupants of a motor vehicle.

« 95% of pedestrians involved in a pedestrian/motor vehicle crash are injured.

» Salt Lake-Ogden area ranks 31st most dangerous for pedestrians among large
metropolitan areas in the U.S.2

o $5.9 million was spent in 2005 to treat pedestrian injuries sustained in crashes
with motor vehicles at hospitals and emergency departments.®

» Pedestrians 50 years and older make up only 14% of pedestrians hit by
automobiles but they account for 33% of pedestrian fatalities.*

1996-2005 Pedestrian Injury Data

Pedestrian/Motor Vehicle Crashes (Ped/MVC)

« 10,567 pedestrians were hit by automobiles *

« 38% of drivers were cited for a traffic violation in Ped/MVC *

« 21% of drivers involved in Ped/MVC were teenagers *

« 48% of Ped/MVC crashes occurred between 2 - 7 PM *

« 59% of pedestrians hit were male *

« More than a 1/3 of pedestrians hit were 14 years old and younger *

Pedestrian Fatalities

« 383 pedestrians were killed by automobiles *

. Utah’s pedestrian fatality rate ranks 29th in the U.S. °
« 66% of pedestrians killed were male * Danny i Lard The SatLake Trure
« Nearly 1/3 of pedestrians killed were 14 years old and younger *

Pedestrian Crashes Pedestrian Fatalities Pedestrian Fatalities Pedestrian Crashes
by Age by Age by Year by Year
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Viclence & Injury
Prevention

12/2007 For more information, contact the Utah Department of Health VIPP at PO Box 142106 Salt Lake City, UT 84114-2106
http://health.utah.gov/vipp Telephone: (801) 538-6141 Fax: (801) 538-9134 E-mail: vipp@utah.gov. Program




Rank County Rate

Prevention Information ; Swe'gife Z%Si

Most pedestrian ir_ljuries can be_preventgd by choosing safe . State 46:35

behaviors and obeying traffic laws. 3 Grand 1284

" 2 4 Utah 41.04

Tips For Motorists Q g 5 Sevier 39.45

o SLOW DOWN especially in neighborhoods, around T S 6 Davis 35.19

schools, and parks. A Sl 7 Washington 32.66

« Drivers must yield to pedestrians crossing the street at ﬁ ‘3 8 Juab 32.48

an intersection whether or not the crosswalk is marked C > B Cache 32.27

or unmarked. SW=l 10 Summit  29.98

« Always stop behind the crosswalk, not in it. [ 8 11 Beaver 29.60

« Look for pedestrians when making left and right turns. [ENSQ 12 BoxElder 28.25

« Stop and look for pedestrians on sidewalks. S > 13 Iron 28.03

« Pedestrians are the road users most at risk in traffic. Do pgtil 14 Millard  26.96

all you can to avoid a crash. S| 16 wasach o 26.53

h= % 16 Rich 25.16

Tips For Pedestrians o 17 Toocle 2462

- Crosswalks are not always safe. Be sure to stop and look el 8 Garfield 2388

in all directions before stepping into the street. ISy 19 Duchesne  23.39

« Get the drivers attention before crossing in front of a SN 20 Sanpete 2223

vehicle. g 8 21 K_ane 21.63

o Check left-right-left before crossing the street and watch 8 — gé CL:Jmtt)ah géig

for vehicles making turns. o o 24 SaﬁrJl:):n 19'52

o If sidewalks exist, use them. If there is no sidewalk, a5 o5 Emer 12'09
walk facing traffic on the shoulder of the road. y '

o Wear reflective clothing or carry a flashlight at night, g? '\D/Iaggett 11.27

. . organ 6.73

light clothing is not enough. 28 Wayne 4.04

29 Piute 0.00

In Utah 59% of pedestrians fatalities occur between 6 p.m. and 6 a.m.

Distance At Which A Driver Will First See A Pedestrian At Night

It takes a vehicle traveling at 40 mph 200 feet to come to a stop

el

Pedestrian wearing dark clothing will be seen at a distance of 55 feet
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Pedestrian wearing white clothing will be seen at a distance of 180 feet

Pedestrian wearing retro-reflective clothing will be seen at a distance of 500 feet

Data Sources: 1-Utah Crash Summary - Utah Highway Safety Office. 2-Mean Streets 2004 - Surface Transportation Policy. 3-Utah Department of Health, http:/ibis.health.utah.gov . 4-Violence and
Injury Prevention Program - Utah Department of Health. 5 National Highway Traffic Safety Administration.




