








- - TOP REASONS TEEN DRIVERS ARE INVOLVED IN CAR CRASHES

NATIONALLY, NEARLY TWO-THIRDS OF CRASHES INVOLVING TEENAGE DRIVERS WERE CAUSED BY
THREE NOVICE-DRIVING MISTAKES (CHILDREN'S HOSPITAL OF PHILADELPHIA):

FAILING TO SCAN THE ROAD

Failing to scan the road ahead and forgetting to check mirrors regularly for
potential risks all around. Quiz your new driver about their surroundings to help
build scanning skills, by asking guestions such as, “What color is the vehicle
three cars ahead of you?" or “What color of jacket is the person on the
sidewalk wearing?”

MISJUDGING ROAD CONDITIONS

Most parents won't allow their teen driver to practice when road conditions
are poor. Use poor weather as an opportunity to teach and supervise.

Give your new driver experience during rain, winter weather, or during a
nighttime rainstorm.

BECOMING DISTRACTED

Distracted driving causes many crashes, not just from cell phone use while
driving, but often from another passenger in the car.




TIPS FOR PARENTS

Be an example of a safe driver.
Explain to your new driver that it's all about safety.
Create a parent/teen driving agreement (see an example of one on page 29 in
this booklet).
o Parents and teens should talk about the rules, responsibilities and
consequences together. Reward your new driver when they follow the rules
("I will fill your gas tank once each month when you follow our agreement.”)
o Follow through with the consequences when rules are not met. Remember,
enforcement begins at home.
Practice, practice, practice with your teen driver.
While you drive, give your teenage passenger a play-by-play.
o Point out examples of unsafe driving and explain why you are changing lanes
or slowing down.
o Announce when you are checking the mirrors.
o Explain how you react to road conditions or other drivers.
Continue to monitor your teen's driving activities after they have received their
driver license.
Give guidance to your teen on responding to peer pressure:
Role-play or talk with your teen about dangerous situations that may arise
when driving or riding in a car with other teens.
° Take the blame, and tell your teen driver it's OK to blame you. “l can't ride
with you because you just got your license. My parents would ground me.”
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- - GETTING A DRIVER LICENSE IN UTAH

WHAT LAWS APPLY TO LICENSED DRIVERS UNDER AGE 18?

The Graduated Driver License (GDL) program is a group of laws that allow beginning
drivers to build driving experience before they are exposed to higher-risk roadway
situations. In the 12 years following the passage of the GDL laws (1996-2010),

Utah saw a 61% decrease in teen driving fatalities (Utah Department of Health).

Teen drivers are approximately 50% more likely to crash in the first month of
driving than they are after a full year of experience driving on their own (AAA
Foundation for Traffic Safety). Around 90% of teen crashes happen in the first few
months teens have a driver license. Of those killed, more than half are the driver.
Fatal crashes increase by almost 50% when a 16- or 17-year-old driver has one
teenage passenger; it doubles with two teen passengers and quadruples with
three or more (AAA Foundation for Traffic Safety).




UTAH GRADUATED DRIVER LICENSING LAWS
Updated 7/16/2012

A minor driver is an individual under the age of 21. Minor drivers are issued a
"Provisional Class D" driver license. Learner permits are a piece of paper issued the
same day as the Provisional Class D license. All new drivers must go through the
learner permit stage before applying for a full license, regardless of age. In Utah,
driving restrictions for teens are based on age, not type of license.

REQUIREMENTS OF LEARNER PERMIT STAGE BY AGE

Driver Required Learner Required Test to Co-Signing Driver Driving Hours
Age Permit Holding  Apply for License Adult on Education Course  Regquired
Period Application  Required
15 6 months and - Written knowlege Yes Yes 40 (10 after dark)
until age 16 - Driving skills
- Eye exam

- Medical questionnaire

16 6 months - Written knowlege Yes Yes 40 (10 after dark)
- Driving skills
- Eye exam
- Medical questionnaire

17 6 months - Written knowlege Yes Yes 40 (10 after dark)
- Driving skills
- Eye exam
- Medical questionnaire

18 None - Written knowlege No Yes 40 (10 after dark)
- Driving skills
- Eye exam
- Medical questionnaire

19 or None - Written knowlege No Yes** 40 (10 after dark)
older - Driving skills
- Eye exam

- Medical questionnaire

** |If you are 19 years old or older, you can skip the driver education course as long as you can
prove you drove 40 hours (10 after dark) and have had your learner permit for at least 3 months.
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Driver Nighttime
Age

16

17

Driving
Restrictions

12 a.m. to
5am.

12 a.m. to
5a.m.

None

Exceptions to
Nighttime Driving
Restrictions

- Accompanied by a

licensed driver at
least 21 years of age
who is in the front
passenger seat

- On agricultural

assignment

+ Driving to and

from work

- Driving to and from

a school-sponsored
activity

- Emergency

situations

- Accompanied by a

licensed driver at
least 21 years of age
who is in the front
passenger seat

- On agricultural

assignment

- Driving to and

from work

- Driving to and from

a school-sponsored
activity

- Emergency

situations

Not Applicable

Front Seat
Passenger
Restrictions with a
Learner Permit

If you have a
learner permit:
Front seat
passenger must be
a parent/guardian,
driving instructor
or adult who
co-signed the
permit application

If you have a
learner permit:
Front seat
passenger must be
a parent/guardian,
driving instructor
or adult who
co-signed the
permit application

If you have a
learner permit:
Front seat
passenger must be
a parent/guardian,
driving instructor
or adult who
co-signed the
permit application

Other
Passenger
Restrictions

If you have
a learner
permit:
None

If you have
a learner
permit: None

If you have a
license:
Only
immediate
family
members,
until 6
months
after
receiving a
full license

If you have
a learner
permit: None

If you have a
license:
Only
immediate
family
members,
until 6
months
after
receiving a
full license

REQUIREMENTS OF PROVISIONAL/FULL LICENSE STAGE BY AGE

Exceptions to
Other Passenger
Restrictions

- Front seat

passenger is a
licensed driver at
least 21 years of
age

- On agricultural

assignment

- Emergency

situations

- Front seat

passenger is a
licensed driver at
least 21 years of
age

- On agricultural

assignment

- Emergency

situations

- Front seat

passenger is a
licensed driver at
least 21 years of
age

- On agricultural

assignment

- Emergency

situations

Continued >



REQUIREMENTS OF PROVISIONAL/FULL LICENSE STAGE BY AGE

Driver Nighttime Exceptions to Front Seat Other Exceptions to
Age  Driving Nighttime Driving Passenger Passenger Other Passenger

Restrictions  Restrictions Restrictions with a Restrictions Restrictions
Learner Permit

18 None Not Applicable Front seat None Not Applicable
passenger must be
a licensed driver
at least 21 years

of age
19 or None Not Applicable Front seat None Not Applicable
older passenger must be

a licensed driver
at least 21 years
of age

REMEMBER:

+ Teens may get a learner permit at age 15.

+ Teens under age 18 must have a learner permit for six months
before applying for a driver license. However, if the teen turns
18 during this six-month time period, they can apply for a driver
license upon turning 18.

*  You must have a learner permit before taking a driver education
course.

+ Teens must be at least 16 before applying for a driver license.

»  Parents/guardians must sign for financial responsibility until
their teen is age 18.

. Parents/guardians can, at any time and for any reason,
withdraw their signature and cancel their teen’s driver license.

OTHER IMPORTANT RESTRICTIONS

+ Everyone in the car must be properly restrained (with a seat belt or child
safety seat).

+  Absolutely no alcohol or drugs in your system while driving.

+  Texting while driving is illegal for all drivers in Utah, regardless of age.

. Texting while driving is illegal for all drivers in Utah [as of 20091.




- - SEAT BELTS SAVE LIVES

BUCKLE UP IN UTAH-IT'S THE LAW!

Utah's safety belt use law states that drivers and passengers are required to wear
a properly adjusted and fastened safety restraint. The law provides for primary
enforcement for individuals up to 19 years of age. In addition, children younger
than eight must ride in an approved child safety seat or booster seat. It is the
responsibility of the driver to make sure everyone is properly restrained in the
car. For a person 19 years or older, enforcement by a law enforcement officer is a
secondary offense, meaning the person must be pulled over for another traffic law
violation (such as speeding, driving impaired, texting while driving or transporting
an unrestrained passenger who is younger than 19 years old) before receiving a
ticket for not buckling up. As a primary law for those under 19 years of age and as
a secondary law for adults, it means that it is illegal to ride without a seat belt.

. It is the responsibility of the driver to make sure everyone is properly restrained
in the car.




ANSWERS TO SOME OF THE MOST COMMON SEAT BELT QUESTIONS ASKED BY TEENS.

Can | Be Stopped by Law Enforcement for Not Wearing a Seat Belt?

Yes. Drivers under the age of 19 may be stopped and issued a ticket for not wearing
a seat belt, without any other reason for being pulled over. Both passengers and
drivers can receive tickets. If cited, the maximum fine is $45.

Instead of Using a Seat Belt, Can | Just Brace Myself in a Crash?

In a crash, your body weight is multiplied by the speed of the car. For example,
if you weigh 150 pounds and crash while traveling 30 mph, your body would hit with
a force of 4,500 pounds. There is no way you can brace yourself against that much
force and your chances of being thrown from the car are much higher if you aren't
restrained in a seat belt.

. Seat belts reduce the risk of injury and death by about 70% when used correctly
(Utah Highway Safety Office).

If My Seat Belt Isn't Comfortable, Can | Put it Under My Arm or Behind My Back?

No. The shoulder belt should be worn properly at all times over the strongest bones
in the—body, the hips and shoulders. When worn properly, the seat belt also prevents
severe organ and spinal damage in a crash.

Is My Kid Brother Safe in a Normal Seat Belt?

No. Seat belts are designed to fit adults and can be dangerous to young children.
By law, children are required to ride in an appropriate child safety seat or booster
seat until they are eight years old, unless they are 4 feet 9 inches or taller.

. Nationally, teens have the lowest seat belt use of any age group (Centers for
Disease Control and Prevention).

. For more information on car seats, booster seats and seat belts,

go to ClickltUtah.org CLICK IT IBC UTAH




FACTS

+ Teens who view their parents as involved (setting rules and staying involved)
are twice as likely to wear a seat belt (Children’s Hospital of Philadelphia).
+ Inacrash, an unrestrained individual can hurt other passengers in the car.

TIPS FOR PARENTS

+  Everyone buckles up in the car, every ride. No exceptions.

+ Discuss consequences and enforcement for not wearing seat belts.

+  Get family and friends to sign a seat belt pledge.

« Discuss possible situations, such as what to do if a friend refuses to buckle up,
and how to handle them.

+ Always use both the lap and shoulder belt. When worn properly, the shoulder
belt should fit across the collarbone and the lap belt should fit low over the hips.

* Never place the shoulder strap under your arm or behind your back.

+  Practice what you preach.

Erica Trudy Knell, age 17, killed in a car crash.

“It takes just a few seconds to make the decision
to buckle up. Think about my daughter the next
time you are deciding whether or not to buckle
up, and think about how the consequences of
that decision could affect the lives of all those
who love you."

To read this story, go to DontDriveStupid.com




Derek Allen Jasper, age 18, killed in a car crash.
“l can never forget the complete sickness and
anxiety that came over me when | knew | had
to tell my children what had happened to
their brother.”

To read this story, go to DontDriveStupid.com

Blake Strebel, age 19, killed in a car crash.

“Blake and his friend were not in the wrong
place at the wrong time. The two boys who hit
them made wrong choices that forever changed
our lives and the lives of their own families.”

To read this story, go to DontDriveStupid.com




Alcohol and drugs impair a person's ability to concentrate and make decisions
and slows their reaction time. Alcohol and drugs—including legal, prescription
and illicit—-may affect motor skills, reflexes and judgment. All of these
characteristics are needed to drive safely. Impaired driving increases the chance
of hurting or killing other people on the road. For this reason, there are strict legal
consequences for persons driving while under the influence.

UTAH'S “NOT A DROP" LAW

An individual between the ages of 13 and 20 who is convicted in court for possession
or consumption of alcohol or for being in a bar while being underage will have his

or her driver license suspended for one year for a first offense and two years for a
second offense. If the court orders suspension for a driver under the age of 16,

the suspension time will begin on the date of conviction and extends for one to two
years from their 16th birthday.

Recent studies show that alcohol consumption and drug use have the potential

to trigger long-term biological changes that may have detrimental effects on the
developing adolescent brain, including neuro-cognitive impairment. Adolescent
alcohol use is not an acceptable rite of passage, but a serious threat to adolescent
development and health (ParentsEmpowered.org).

. Nearly every 90 seconds, a person
is injured in a drunk driving
crash (NHTSA).
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DRIVING UNDER THE INFLUENCE

If you are under age 21, your permit or license can be suspended for the

following reasons:

*  Purchase, possession or consumption of alcohol [as of 2010].

+  Attempting to gain admittance or being admitted to a tavern, bar or social club
[as of 2010].

+ Being intoxicated from alcohol or a controlled substance [as of 1999].

If a driver is under the age of 19 at the time of a DUI arrest, the following suspension
periods will be imposed for a first offense:

* Not-a-Drop arrest: one-year suspension effective 30 days from arrest date.

+  Per-Se arrest: two-year suspension effective 30 days from arrest date.

If a driver is age 19 or 20 at the time of arrest, the following suspension periods will
be imposed for a first offense:

* Not-a-Drop arrest: six-month suspension effective 30 days from arrest date.

+ Per-Se arrest: six-month suspension effective 30 days from arrest date.

REFUSAL TO SUBMIT TO A CHEMICAL TEST

If a driver is under age 21 at the time of arrest and refuses to submit to a chemical
test, the license will be revoked until the person is 21 years of age or for a period of
two years, whichever is longer, for a first offense.

For more information, visit PublicSafety.utah.gov.

. For drivers under age 21, it is illegal to drive with any detectable amount of
alcohol in the body. If you are caught in violation of this, your license can be
suspended for six months to two years.

B The typical costs of a DUI total more than $10,000 (includes fine/court fees,
lawyer fees, impound fees, ignition interlock for three years, added high-risk
insurance costs, etc.).




DRIVING UNDER THE INFLUENCE OF LEGAL AND ILLEGAL DRUGS

If you are under the influence of any drug, including over-the-counter medications,
you may be convicted of a crime. This also include substances such as paint thinner,
gasoline or other inhalants. If a person has any measurable controlled substance
(illegal drugs) or the metabolite of a controlled substance in their body, the law
prohibits them from driving. Metabolites from illegal drugs can be detectable for
30 days or more after you use them.

Possible penalties for these offenses include: loss of license for 90 days, court fines,
mandatory ignition interlock device on your vehicle (paid for by you) and even jail time.

. The total cost of a DUI conviction can be as high as $10,000.




FACTS

Teen drivers who have been drinking are less likely to use seat belts, increasing
their risk of dying in a crash (NHTSA).

Teens with involved, supportive parents are 71% less likely to drive while
intoxicated (Children's Hospital of Philadelphia).

TIPS FOR PARENTS

Set rules about not drinking alcohol or using drugs (illegal and prescription
drugs). Establish a “no underage drinking" rule. Ask for a personal commitment.
Provide consequences and enforcement when rules are broken.

Discuss possible scenarios that could happen to your teen, such as friends
drinking at a party and what to do in those situations, like calling for a

ride home.

Tell them to NEVER get in a vehicle with someone who's been drinking or is
impaired in any way.

Let your teen know that no matter where you are or what time it is, they can
call you and you will pick them up.

Continue monitoring your teen's driving activities well after they begin
driving alone.

If you're involved and supportive while teaching your teen to drive, they will be
more likely to share this information with you. Close monitoring shows you care
and reduces crash risk.

Help your teen understand the signs of an impaired driver:

© Drives unreasonably fast, slow or at inconsistent speeds.

Weaves in or out of their travel lane.

Makes frequent lane changes.

Ignores traffic signals and signs.

Drives at night without lights.

Drives too close to curbs, shoulders or the edge of the road or straddles
the center line.

O O O o o



Porscha Marie Dzierzon, age 16, killed in a car crash.
“Her boyfriend made several mistakes that night.
He made the choice to drive recklessly and
endanger not only Porscha, but her two best
friends who were in the back seat as well.”

To read this story, go to DontDriveStupid.com

Michael LeFevre, age 16, killed in a car crash.

“If there is @ message we could share, it would
be always wear your seat belt. Tell your loved
ones every day how much you love them and
live life with no regrets.”

To read this story, go to DontDriveStupid.com
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- - DISTRACTED DRIVING

Anything that takes a driver's attention off the road is a distraction. Some common
distractions include using cell phones, eating and drinking, navigating, reading,
changing music, talking to passengers or tending to children, adjusting car settings,
applying make-up, reaching for something in the vehicle or looking at something
away from the road.

For teens, using electronic devices while driving is the No. 1 distraction, though
drivers of all ages are guilty of driving while using their phones (AAA Foundation for
Traffic Safety). The National Safety Council estimates that 1.4 million crashes each
year involve drivers using cell phones and at least 200,000 additional crashes each
year involve drivers who are texting. With so many potential distractions, a driver's
attention may easily get diverted if the driver isn't making a conscious effort to
stay focused on the road. It takes just one brief moment of distraction to cause

a disaster.

FACTS

* In Utah, teen drivers are four times more likely to be involved in a distraction-
related collision than any other age group (Utah Highway Safety Office).

+ Talking on a cell phone while driving can double reaction time (AAA Foundation
for Traffic Safety).

+ Crash rates increase drastically for 16- and 17-year-old drivers with every
additional passenger in the car (AAA Foundation for Traffic Safety).



TEXTING WHILE DRIVING? THINK AGAIN.

If your teen texts while driving, they are at significant risk of getting into a crash.
The problem is they probably think they're a good texter and can get away with it.
The reality is, if someone texts, emails or send pictures while driving, their chances
of getting in a crash increases six times (Utah Highway Safety Office). The bottom
line is, texting while driving is illegal for ALL AGES in Utah and the penalties
are harsh (these penalties apply to drivers of all ages, not just teens):

+ First-time offenders may be charged with a Class C misdemeanor. That means
your teen could spend up to 90 days in jail and pay up to $750 in fines just for
texting while driving. Their license could also be suspended for three months.

+ If someone is hurt because your teen was texting, or if they get charged
a second time within three years, they may be charged with a Class B
misdemeanor. That means they could spend up to six months in jail and pay
up to $1,000 in fines. In addition to these fines and punishments, the judge
may order a three-month suspension of or revocation of their driver license.

+ |If your teen kills someone while sending or receiving text messages,
emails or pictures, they could be charged with a felony and receive a fine
of up to $10,000 and up to 15 years in prison.

What message is worth that?

. Each day, more than 15 people are killed and more than 1,200 people are injured
in crashes that were reported to involve a distracted driver (NHTSA).

. If you are texting while driving, you are just as dangerous as someone who is
intoxicated at double the legal alcohol limit. If you are talking on your cell phone,
even hands-free, you are as dangerous as a drunk driver (University of Utah).




TIPS FOR PARENTS

Set clear rules and expectations about distracted driving.

Discuss conseguences and enforcement when rules are broken.

Make your teen’s car a cell-phone-free and a no-texting zone.

Follow the GDL passenger restriction laws. Even after the six-month mark,
set rules for your teen when driving with their friends. Have them assign a
passenger to do the other activities, such as answering the cell phone,
changing the song, navigating, etc.

Teach your teen:

o

That the safest time to use their cell phone in the car is when they have
reached their destination and stopped. Complete any calls or texts before
starting the car. While driving, pull over for urgent calls; otherwise, let it go
to voicemail.

To make adjustments to the vehicle's mirrors, temperature settings, seat
positioning, etc., before hitting the road.

To turn the music off while learning to drive. Research shows that adjusting
the radio is the most common distraction for drivers between the ages of
16 and 20 (AAA Foundation for Traffic Safety). Driving and channel surfing
don't mix.

To get directions and visualize the route and destination before turning the key.

Jake Hawkes, age 19, killed in a car crash.
"Perhaps my son is no longer alive because he
was paying attention more closely to his phone
than the road in front of him."

To read this story, go to DontDriveStupid.com
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Aggressive driving doesn't only mean road rage it's operating a vehicle in an way
that endangers or is likely to endanger people or property. Nationally, two-thirds

of traffic deaths involve behaviors commonly associated with aggressive driving
(NHTSA). Utah's aggressive driving statistics follow this national trend. Most actions
connected with aggressive driving are illegal, such as:

+  Speeding

* Running red lights and stop signs

+ Failure to yield

+ Tailgating

+  Weaving

. Speeding or driving too fast for road conditions is a major factor in crashes
where a teen was killed (Children's Hospital of Philadelphia).

. One in three fatal teen driver crashes in Utah involve speeding (Utah Highway
Safety Office).

Timothy “T.J." Arqguello, age 19, killed in a car crash.
“Five young lives could have been saved by
simply ‘following the rules.””

To read this story, go to DontDriveStupid.com
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FACTS

Speeding increases the chance that a crash will result in injury (Insurance
Institute for Highway Safety).

Nearly 70% of teens say that, as a passenger, they have a lot or some influence
to stop their friends from driving recklessly (The Ad Council).

Three out of 10 teens say that in the past six months they have beenin a
situation when their own driving behavior put them at risk (The Ad Council).

TIPS FOR PARENTS

Set rules and expectations about aggressive driving. Discuss consequences and

enforcement when rules are broken.

Discuss possible situations, such as what to do if another driver cuts you off on

the road.

When discussing dealing with aggressive drivers, tell your teen:

° Don't play their game. Back off and let them go on their way. Remember,
it's not a competition and it's not their job to teach the other driver a lesson.

° Ignore honking and rude gestures. Don't respond and don't make eye
contact. It will only escalate the hostile feelings.

° |f you can do so safely, contact police with the vehicle description, license
number and the location and direction of travel of the other vehicle.

° Plan ahead to avoid the worst congestion and allow yourself plenty of time
to get to where you are going.

° Relax. Take a deep breath, chat with a companion and listen to calming
music. Getting stressed and upset will not get you there any faster.

Don't drive when you feel angry, upset or fatigued.
Driving should not be a race. Leave your competitive instincts at home or
save them for the field.

° Treat others the way you would like to be treated. Courteous driving
encourages other drivers to be courteous. Aggressive driving influences
others to drive aggressively.

As a parent, practice what you preach.
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- - DROWSY DRIVING

Drowsy driving is just as dangerous as drunk driving, especially when it comes
to new drivers. Teen drivers who sleep fewer than eight hours at night are
one-third more likely to crash than those who sleep eight or more hours nightly
(AAA Foundation for Traffic Safety).

WARNING SIGNS THAT YOU MAY BE TOO DROWSY TO DRIVE:

« Difficulty focusing, frequent blinking or heavy eyelids.

+ Daydreaming or wandering thoughts.

« Trouble remembering the last few miles driven.

+ Yawning repeatedly or rubbing your eyes.

+ Trouble keeping your head up.

« Drifting from your lane, tailgating, or hitting a shoulder rumble strip.
+ Feeling restless and irritable.

WHEN FEELING DROWSY, DRIVERS SHOULD FIRST PULL OVER, THEN:

+  Switch drivers.

+ Take a10- to 20-minute nap.

+  Get out of the car and stretch or jog for a few minutes.
+ Eat asnack.

+ Find a safe place to sleep for the night.

B Being awake for 18 hours is similar to having a blood alcohol concentration
(BAC) level of 0.08, which is legally drunk (Children’s Hospital of Philadelphia).
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FACTS

Lack of sleep reduces a person's ability to process information, sustain
attention, have accurate motor control and react normally. All are crucial driving
skills (Children’s Hospital of Philadelphia).

Nationally, drivers under age 25 cause the majority of fatigue-related crashes
(Children's Hospital of Philadelphia).

Nationally, while only 15% of miles driven by teen drivers occur at night, 40% of
their fatal crashes take place between midnight and 5 a.m. (American Academy
of Pediatrics).

TIPS FOR PARENTS

Set rules and expectations.

Talk to your teen about the importance of sleep. Let them know if they need to
pull over because they are drowsy to call and let someone know where they are,
once safely pulled off the road.

Be aware when your teen comes home late at night. It may be best to drive
them to school the next morning.

Bailey Corless, age 17, killed in a car crash.
"We will never forget that Saturday when a
Grantsville City police officer knocked on our
door to tell us that we had lost our little girl.
That was the worst day of our lives."

To read this story, go to DontDriveStupid.com
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- - ADDITIONAL INFORMATION FOR PARENTS

UTAH DRIVER POINT SYSTEM

If your teen has been convicted of a moving violation, points will be added to their
driving record as follows:

Reckless driving 80
Speeding (depending on severity) 35to0 75
Failure to yield right-of-way 60
Following too closely (tailgating) 60
Wrong side of road 60
Wrong way on one-way street 60
Red light 50
Stop sign 50
Improper lookout 50
Improper passing 50
Negligent collision 50
Other moving violations 40

Note: Points may vary plus or minus 10% depending upon the severity of the
record. Certain serious violations, such as drunk driving, require mandatory
license suspension or revocation and are not included in the point system.

Is the Point System for Youth Different than for Adults?

Yes. If you are a driver under 21 years of age who accumulates 70 or more points in
three years, you may have your driver license suspended or denied for one month to
a year, depending upon the severity of the record.

What is the Point System Limit for Drivers 21 or Older?

A driver 21 years of age or older who accumulates 200 or more points in three years
may have his or her driver license suspended for three months to a year, depending
upon severity of the record.

How Can | Clear My Points?

The state will remove half of the points on your record if you drive a year without
a traffic violation. If you drive two years without a violation, all of your points will
be deleted. Points are automatically removed three years after the date of the
violation. You can also attend a defensive driving course and may be eligible for a
50-point reduction.
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TOP 10 THINGS TO DO AFTER A CRASH

1.

NouswN

0

10.

If it is clear, safe and legal, stop your vehicle. Move the vehicle out of the
roadway if necessary.

Turn off the ignition of the cars involved.

Make sure everyone involved in the crash is OK.

Call 911.

If you have a reflective triangle or flares, set them around the crash site.
Gather the names of all persons who witnessed the crash.

Take a picture with a camera and/or draw a quick diagram of where the vehicles’
occupants were seated and indicate the vehicles' direction of travel and lane.
Also note the date, time and weather conditions.

Write down the driver's name, license and/or plate numbers.

Exchange insurance information. Do not discuss “fault” or make statements
about the crash to anyone but the police.

Get a copy of the police report of the crash from the investigating law
enforcement agency.
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- - MOTORCYCLE ENDORSEMENT

IN UTAH, YOU MUST RECEIVE A MOTORCYCLE ENDORSEMENT IN ADDITION TO YOUR REGULAR
DRIVER LICENSE TO LEGALLY OPERATE A MOTORCYCLE.

WHO IS ELIGIBLE FOR A MOTORCYCLE ENDORSEMENT?

« Individuals must be at least 16 years old to apply for a motorcycle endorsement.
If you are 15 '/, years old, you can take a Beginning Rider Course (BRC) but you
must wait until you turn 16 before getting your motorcycle learner permit
and endorsement.

« Individuals with a provisional or full driver license, a CDL license or an
out-of-state equivalent.

+ Before obtaining a motorcycle endorsement, individuals must obtain a
motorcycle learner permit.

THERE ARE TWO WAYS TO GET YOUR MOTORCYCLE ENDORSEMENT IN UTAH:

« Apply at a driver licensing office. This requires you to complete an application,
bring required documentation, complete an eye exam and pass a written test.
Once you pass the test you will receive a motorcycle learner permit. This permit
allows you to drive your car and any size motorcycle.

+ Take a Motorcycle Safety Foundation (MSF) Beginning Rider Course (BRC).

REQUIREMENTS OF A MOTORCYCLE LEARNER PERMIT

Driver  Eligible for Can Enroll in Required Permit Holding Driving Hours
Age Learner Permit  Motorcycle Education Tests for Period Required
Course Application

15'/, No Yes* N/A N/A N/A
16-18 Yes Yes Vision 2 months** 40 (10 after dark)

Knowledge

Written

Riding Skills
19 or Yes Yes Vision None 40 (10 after dark)
older Knowledge

Written

Riding Skills

*A motorcycle learner permit is valid for six months.
**Individuals under the age of 19 must hold a learner permit for two months unless they successfully complete a Beginning Rider Course.
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Go to PublicSafety.utah.gov for more information on how to get your motorcycle
endorsement and for a list of BRC schools.

LEARNER PERMIT DRIVING RESTRICTIONS
The following activities are prohibited for all drivers during the first two months of
the learner permit period:

Driving with passengers.

Driving between the hours of 10 p.m. and 6 a.m.

Driving on highways with posted speed limits of 60 mph or higher.

EXCEPTIONS TO THESE RULES INCLUDE:

+ Driving for employment purposes.
+ Driving while on an agricultural assignment.
+ Driving during an emergency situation.

There are no restrictions for any driver during the last four months of the learner
permit period.
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WHEN CAN | TAKE THE RIDING SKILLS TEST FOR THE MOTORCYCLE ENDORSEMENT?

Driver Age When Eligible for Riding Skills Test

15}/ N/A*

16-18 2 months after receiving motorcycle learner permit
19 or Anytime after getting a learner permit

older

* You must be at least 16 years old to get a learner permit and have it for at least two months
before taking the riding skills test and applying for a motorcycle endorsement.

SKILLS TEST LICENSE RESTRICTIONS

Motorcycle Used in Test License Restrictions
90 cc or less Restricted to motorcycles of 90 cc or less
249 cc or less Restricted to motorcycles of 249 cc or less
649 cc or less Restricted to motorcycles of 649 cc or less
Larger than 650 cc No restrictions

MOTORCYCLE HELMET LAW

« Utah law requires that individuals 17 years old or younger wear protective
headgear that meets federal safety standards when riding on a motorcycle.
+ Individuals age 18 or older do not have a helmet requirement.
° |ndividuals age 18 or older can have $8 of a moving traffic violation fine
waived if they were wearing a helmet at the time of the violation, excluding
driving under the influence violations.
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MOTORCYCLE ROAD SAFETY

Motorcycles have full use of traffic lanes. This means that:

«  Cars cannot deprive motorcyclists of full use of the lane.

+  Motorcyclists must switch lanes in order to pass another vehicle.
Motorcyclists cannot drive between lanes or rows of traffic.
Motorcyclists cannot ride side-by-side in the same lane.

Fl

5
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- - PARENT/TEEN DRIVING AGREEMENT

WHAT IS A PARENT/TEEN DRIVING AGREEMENT?

A parent/teen driving agreement is a formal agreement between parents and
their teen driver. It communicates that driving is a privilege that parents and teens
should take seriously. The agreement spells out the rules, responsibilities and
consequences for both the parent and teen driver. The agreement also includes
elements of Utah's Graduated Driver Licensing Law. Parents and teens should

talk about the driving agreement and enter into the agreement together.
Parental involvement and enforcement are key to reducing the risk of being

in a crash.

PARENT/TEEN DRIVING AGREEMENT
l, , Will drive carefully and cautiously and will be courteous to other
drivers, bicyclists and pedestrians at all times.

| promise that I will obey all the rules of the road.

+  Always wear a seat belt and make all my passengers buckle up.

+  Obey all traffic lights, stop signs, other street signs and road markings.
« Stay within the speed limit and drive safely.

* Never use the car to race or to try to impress others.

» Never give rides to hitchhikers.

| promise that | will make sure | can stay focused on driving.

+  Drive with both hands on the wheel.

* Never use a cell phone to talk or text message while | drive.

*  Never drive when | am tired or drowsy.

«  Control my emotions when | am behind the wheel.

+ Call my parents for a ride home if | am impaired in any way (such as drugs,
alcohol, etc.) that interferes with my ability to drive safely.

+ Never eat food, put on makeup or use earphones to listen to music while | drive.
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| promise that | will respect laws about drugs and alcohol.

« Drive only when | am alcohol- and drug-free.
* Never allow any alcohol or illegal drugs in the car.
* Only get in cars where the driver is alcohol -and drug-free.

| promise that | will be a responsible driver.

+ Drive only when | have permission to use the car and not let anyone else drive
the car unless | have permission.

+ Drive someone else's car only if | have parental permission.

«  Pay for all traffic citations or parking tickets.

+  Complete my family responsibilities and maintain good grades at school as listed
here: .

+ Contribute to the costs of gasoline, maintenance and insurance as listed here:

| agree to the following restrictions, but understand that these restrictions will be modified by my

parents as | get more driving experience and demonstrate that | am a responsible driver.

*+ Forthenext __ months, | will not drive after___ p.m.

+ Forthenext __ months, | will not transport more than____ teen passengers
(unless | am supervised by a responsible adult).

+ Additional restrictions:

+ Penalties for agreement violations:

° Drove after drinking alcohol or using drugs. No driving for ___ months.
°  Got ticket for speeding or moving violation. No driving for ___ months.
°  Drove after night driving curfew. No driving for ____ weeks/months.

°  Drove too many passengers. No driving for ___ weeks/months.

°  Broke promise about seat belts. No driving for ___ weeks/months.

(e]

Other penalties:
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| promise to follow all the rules and restrictions in this agreement. | understand that driving is

a privilege, not a right, and that I will only drive the car with permission. | understand that | am
responsible for my driving actions and there are consequences for my behavior. | understand

that my parents will impose penalties, including removal of my driving privileges, if | violate our
agreement. | also understand that my parents will allow me greater driving privileges as | become
more experienced and as | demonstrate that | am always a safe and responsible driver.

Driver: Date:

As a parent, | promise to:

+ Approach the process of teaching you to drive with patience and support.

+ Be a positive role model by driving safely and following the laws myself.

+ Enforce Utah's Graduated Driver Licensing Laws (see DontDriveStupid.com).

+ Establish a schedule of training and provide you with the 40 hours of supervised
driving practice, including 10 hours at night, and practice with you in different
weather conditions and on different types of roads.

+  Pick you up or arrange for a safe ride home, regardless of the situation or time
of your call. Your safety is my No. 1 priority and | will be there when you need me.

+ Consider your requests for changes to our agreement with respect and
careful consideration.

+ Beinvolved in your driving.

Parent: Date:

Parent: Date:

For more tips on teaching your teen to drive safely, Utah's Graduated Driver Licensing laws, or to
see examples of additional Parent-Teen Driving Agreements, visit DontDriveStupid.com.

Adapted from the American Academy of Pediatrics “Parent-Teen Driving Agreement"”
(www.aap.org/publiced/BR_TeenDriver.ntm), CDC “Parents are the Key"
(http://www.cdc.gov/ParentsAreTheKey/agreement/index.html), and California "Parent-Teen Driving
Agreement” (http://www.aaa-calif.com/auto/safety/Parent_teencontract.pdf).

88



- - WHERE CAN | GET MORE INFORMATION?

Zero Fatalities: PSAs, safety tips and statistics.
www.ZeroFatalities.com

Don’t Drive Stupid: Resources and sample activities to help teens, teachers and parents
implement traffic safety programs.
www.DontDriveStupid.com

AAA Foundation for Traffic Safety: Teen driving statistics and facts.
www.AAAFoundation.org

Insurance Institute for Highway Safety: Research, statistics and educational information.
www.iihs.org

National Highway Traffic Safety Administration: Statistics, research reports, resources,
educational materials and activities.
www.nhtsa.dot.gov

National Road Safety Foundation: Traffic safety programs, films, PSAs and presentations.
www.NationalRoadSafety.org

Parents Empowered: Education on underage drinking, traffic safety and parental tips.
www.ParentsEmpowered.org

Teen Driving Source, The Children's Hospital of Philadelphia (CHOP): Education, statistics,
research and ideas for keeping teen drivers safe.
www.TeenDriverSource.org

Utah Department of Health Violence and Injury Prevention Program: Statistics, educational
materials and GDL information.
www.health.utah.gov/vipp/index.html

Utah Driver License Division: Licensing information, online practice tests and laws.
www.driverlicense.utah.gov

Utah Highway Safety Office: Statistics, educational materials and safety programs.
www.highwaysafety.utah.gov

Utah Safety Council: Alive at 25, a survival course for 15- to 24-year-olds.
www.UtahSafetyCouncil.org/driver_education
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